Benton County Water Plan

Drought conditions seen throughout Minnesota in 1977 led to the enactment of the Comprehensive Local Water Management Act in 1985. This act encourages Counties to create and implement a water management plan for the County. In 1988, the Benton County Board of Commissioners felt the County needed to assess and protect water resources, and as a result, the first Benton County Water Management plan was approved in 1991.

The Local Water Management Plan works to identify priority water resource concerns in the County and lists goals, objectives, and measurable outcomes in improving the County’s water quality and quantity. Benton SWCD is currently working on writing a new Local
Water Management Plan, as the current plan is set to expire in 2018. 


For more information on the Water Plan, please contact Amanda Guertin at 320-968-5300 Ext. 112



The Water Resources Advisory Committee's (WRAC) mission is to provide coordination between units of government, citizens, and others involved in the protection, management, and improvement of the water resources in Benton County

The WRAC's Purpose is to:

  • Advise the Benton SWCD regarding Comprehensive Local Water Mangement Plan review, adoption, implementation, and recommendation of amendments pursuant to Minnesota Statues section 103B.301-103B.335
  • Inform the Benton County Board of Commissioners regarding water resources


Voting Members

Wade Bastian, Benton SWCD Supervisor, Vice Chair (2015-2017)                                                                                                                                                 Duane Cekalla, Member at-Large                                                                                                                                                                                                       Joe Jordan, Elk River Watershed Association                                                                                                                                                                                 Warren Peschl, Benton County Board Commissioner                                                                                                                                                                   Jim Rau, Little Rock Lake Association                                                                                                                                                                                             Steve Simones, Benton County Township Officers Association                                                                                                                                                   Lisa Vollbrecht, Benton County Municipalities                                                                                                                                                                             Dale Vouk, Member at-Large                                                                                                                                                                                                             Joe Wollak, Member at-Large, Chair (2015-2017


Ex-Officio Members

Nicki Blake-Bradley, DNR Water Resources                                                                                                                                                                                    Chris Byrd, Benton County Public Works                                                                                                                                                                                          Dan Cibulka, Sherburne SWCD                                                                                                                                                                                                          Jennifer Gallus, MDA Qater Quality Advisor                                                                                                                                                                                     Pat Gehling, NRCS District Conservationist                                                                                                                                                                                       Craig Gondeck, Member at-Large                                                                                                                                                                                                      Beau Liddell, DNR Wildlife                                                                                                                                                                                                                Gerry Maciej, Benton SWCD District Manager                                                                                                                                                                                Steve Marod, DNR Fisheries                                                                                                                                                                                                              Dan Martens, University of Minnesota Extension Service                                                                                                                                                            Mark McNamara, Benton County Planning and Zoning                                                                                                                                                                   George Minerich, MDH Principal Planner                                                                                                                                                                                        Dave Neiman, Minnesota Rural Waters Assocation                                                                                                                                                                         Craig Nelson, City of Sauk Rapids Public Utilities Director                                                                                                                                                             Nicole Ruhoff, Benton County Public Health                                                                                                                                                                                  Phil Votruba, MPCA                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Jason Weinerman, BWSR Board Conservationist                                                                                                                                                                                                   



The Benton County WRAC is scheduled to meet the last Tuesday of the month from 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM. Meetings are held in the County Board Room within the Benton County Government Center